JOURNAL HOME

MARCH 2022 ENTRIES

March 6th, 2022 | 3:00 AM

hello, I'm kei. I just finished decorating the site and fixing the code to make it look how I want to. this place will be used to talk about my nursing activities because I just started doing student work at a hospital but I don't feel too confident yet.

Last clinical, my group and I treated a long-stay patient with alzheimer's and dementia. We were warned ahead of time they hate being bathed, and unfortunately we were the ones with the task. We opted to use some wet towels to stay non-invasive but they stay very upset. Though we couldn't stop the bed-bath, as we could be liable for elderly neglect. I feel like we shouldn't have approached them that way, but I don't really know what else to do. It was my first experience with a patient responding negatively to treatment, and I'm not used to doing things people don't like.

March 7th, 2022 | 7:22 PM

Today, I had my first personal patient who was admitted due to heavy fall risk. Nothing too eventful like last time. I needed to do a full health assessment on them (think of a giant interview), and they kept on rambling offtopic about their sister "she's a space cadet that one!!" and vented about some deaths in the family so it took quite a while. Though, I like listening to people. All stories about the patients in our unit have an element of sadness to them, though I suppose if they didn't they wouldn't be here. I hope it won't take too big of a mental toll hearing a lot of them, every professor I've had has cried at one point in lecture recalling a certain patient story.

March 10th, 2022 | 3:34 PM

I had to prick my own finger to check for blood glucose level for a lab assignment. I didn't prick my finger hard enough and wasn't able to get enough blood to tell because I am a coward. But I still stabbed my hand so who's the big kid now huh.

March 16th, 2022 | 2:31 AM

We had to do these simulation labs where we were "primary nurses" to a certain patient (which was an actor). I fucked up real bad. I had to administrate this blood thinner, and was able to catch that it would be dangerous to give it to them, but wasn't able treat a bad side effect they had from its prior use. Blood thinners can cause irregular or uncontrollable bleeding from anywhere in the body really, and the patient had it bad. They showed me a bloodied napkin and started describing multiple ways they were bleeding and I just didn't know where to go. Straight up deer in headlights injected with a paralysis agent. I feel as though I did the worst out of everyone else in my group. Oh well. I hope one day I'll start thinking of this profession positively.

March 23th, 2022 | 10:41 AM

I administrated my first meds today. I did some pills and a shot. I kinda lucked out cause the patient was nice, though I also feel like they are purposely giving me nice patients because of how timid I am. I'm not complaining though.

April 3rd, 2023 | 9:25 AM

What do you MEAN its only been a year since my first clinical rotation?? Its felt much, much longer than that. I thought this happened in 2021. Anyways, hello, its been a while. Things have not been really going well for me. I have been through two other clinical rotations since that first one, and I still dislike what I'm doing. The current plan for me is to finish schooling for my parent's ease, and then try to look at different avenues. My self-esteem has gone down the pooter with how much I have been struggling to do something that makes me feel bad. I dread the fact that I have to do a nursing assistant job to build an ok resume for my preceptorship.

Anyways the other two rotations that I just finished were on a Medical-Surgical floor (for general patients) and a Maternity floor. Med-Surg felt awful, but it really kickstarted my skills more. Maternity has been my favorite rotation so far because I like babies. Saw a birth and everything!! Held a baby!! Helped a circumcision!! Next semester, I will be doing Community and Pediatrics, which I look forward to so I can get out of the hospital setting.

When vacation hits I'm gonna try to clean this page up a little more. I'm taking a class on HTML and CSS right now, hooray!

about

hello, i'm kip!
they/them

links

Template Design
almost sweet resources